The TARDIS arrives in December 1986 at a South Pole Space Tracking station where the personnel, under the command of General Cutler, are engaged in trying to talk down a manned space capsule that has got into difficulty.

The Doctor realises that the problem stems from the gravitational pull of another planet that has entered the solar system and is now heading for Earth. His words are borne out when the base is invaded by a force of alien Cybermen. The Cybermen’s world, Mondas, is draining energy from Earth – once its ‘twin planet’ – and the situation will soon become critical.

The Cybermen propose to take the humans back to Mondas for conversion into further members of their race. The humans fight back – although sabotage by Ben prevents Cutler from taking the highly dangerous step of launching a powerful Z-bomb – and Mondas eventually disintegrates due to absorbing too much energy.

All the remaining Cybermen collapse and die, having been totally dependent on their planet. The Doctor has become weak during the ordeal, and hurries back to the TARDIS…


The Doctor – William Hartnell
Ben Jackson – Michael Craze
Polly – Anneke Wills
American Sergeant – John Brandon
Barclay – David Dodimead
Cyberman Voice – Roy Skelton
Cyberman Voice – Peter Hawkins
Dyson – Dudley Jones
General Cutler – Robert Beatty
Geneva Technician – Eileen Cullen
Gern – Gregg Palmer
Jarl – Reg Whitehead
Krail – Reg Whitehead
Krang – Harry Brooks
R/T Technician – Christopher Dunham
Radar Technician – Christopher Matthews
Schultz – Alan White
Shav – Gregg Palmer
T.V. Announcer – Glenn Beck
Talon – Harry Brooks
Terry Cutler – Callen Angelo
Tito – Shane Shelton
Wigner – Steve Plytas
Williams – Earl Cameron


Director – Derek Martinus
Assistant Floor Manager – Jenny McArthur
Costumes – Sandra Reid
Designer – Peter Kindred
Film Cameraman – unknown
Film Editor – unknown
Incidental Music – stock
Make-Up – Gillian James
Producer – Innes Lloyd
Production Assistant – Edwina Verner
Special Sounds – Brian Hodgson
Story Editor – Gerry Davis
Studio Lighting – Howard King
Studio Sound – Adrian Bishop-Laggett
Title Music – Ron Grainer and the BBC Radiophonic Workshop, arranged by Delia Derbyshire
Writer – Kit Pedler
Writer – Gerry Davis

First Transmitted

1 – 08/10/1966 17:50
2 – 15/10/1966 17:50
3 – 22/10/1966 17:50
4 – 29/10/1966 17:50

Episode 4 is missing from the BBC Archives.

Buy a signed copy of Doctor Who – The Tenth Planet CD read by Anneke Wills.







Buy a signed copy of Doctor Who – The Tenth Planet DVD