The War Machines


First Transmitted

1 – 25/06/1966 17:35

2 – 02/07/1966 18:55

3 – 09/07/1966 17:35

4 – 16/07/1966 17:15


The TARDIS arrives in London in 1966 and the Doctor and Dodo visit the Post Office Tower. There they meet Professor Brett, whose revolutionary new computer WOTAN (Will Operating Thought ANalogue) can actually think for itself and is shortly to be linked up to other major computers around the world – a project overseen by civil servant Sir Charles Summer.

It transpires however that WOTAN considers that humans are inferior to machines and should therefore be ruled by them. Exerting a hypnotic influence, it arranges the construction of War Machines – heavily-armed, self-contained mobile computers – with which to take over the world.

These prove more than a match for troops, but by establishing a magnetic force field the Doctor is able to capture one of them, which he then reprograms to destroy WOTAN. Dodo, now back in her own time, decides to remain on Earth. The Doctor enters the TARDIS alone, but Brett’s secretary Polly and her merchant seaman friend Ben Jackson follow him inside just before it dematerialises.


Cast & Crew


The Doctor – William Hartnell

American Journalist – Ric Felgate

Ben Jackson – Michael Craze from Episode 1

Captain – John Rolfe

Corporal – Frank Jarvis

Dodo – Jackie Lane until Episode 2

Flash – Ewan Proctor

Garage Mechanic – Edward Colliver

Interviewer – John Doye

Kitty – Sandra Bryant

Machine Operator – Gerald Taylor

Major Green – Alan Curtis

Man in telephone box – John Slavid

Polly – Anneke Wills from Episode 1

Professor Brett – John Harvey

Professor Krimpton – John Cater

Radio Announcer – Dwight Whylie

Sergeant – John Boyd-Brent

Sir Charles Summer – William Mervyn

Soldier – Robin Dawson

Taxi-driver – Michael Rathbone

Television Newsreader – Kenneth Kendall

The Minister – George Cross

The voice of WOTAN/WOTAN – Gerald Taylor

Tramp – Roy Godfrey

US Correspondent – Carl Conway

Worker – Desmond Cullum-Jones

Worker – Eddie Davis


Director – Michael Ferguson

Assistant Floor Manager – Lovett Bickford

Assistant Floor Manager – Margot Hayhoe

Costumes – Daphne Dare

Costumes – Barbara Lane

Designer – Raymond London

Film Cameraman – Alan Jonas

Film Editor – Eric Mival

Incidental Music – stock

Make-Up – Sonia Markham

Producer – Innes Lloyd

Production Assistant – Snowy White

Special Sounds – Brian Hodgson

Story Editor – Gerry Davis

Studio Lighting – George Summers

Studio Sound – David Hughes

Title Music – Ron Grainer and the BBC Radiophonic Workshop, arranged by Delia Derbyshire

Writer – Ian Stuart Black based on an idea by Kit Pedler

© Anneke Wills 2017