The Macra Terror


First Transmitted

1 – 11/03/1967 17:50

2 – 18/03/1967 17:50

3 – 25/03/1967 17:50

4 – 01/04/1967 17:50


The time travellers visit a human colony that appears to be a happy place run along the lines of an enormous holiday camp but has in fact been infiltrated and taken over by a race of giant crab-like creatures – the Macra. The brainwashed inhabitants are forced to mine a gas toxic to themselves but vital for their oppressors’ survival. Ben at one point comes under the Macra’s malign influence and turns against his friends. He eventually regains his senses, however, and under the Doctor’s guidance destroys the gas pumping equipment, thus killing the Macra and restoring the colony’s freedom.

Cast & Crew


The Doctor – Patrick Troughton

Ben Jackson – Michael Craze

Jamie – Frazer Hines

Polly – Anneke Wills

Alvis – Anthony Gardner

Barney – Graham Armitage

Broadcast Voice/Broadcast and Propaganda Voice – Richard Beale

Cheerleader – Roger Jerome

Cheerleader – Terry Wright

Cheerleader – Ralph Carrigan

Chicki – Sandra Bryant

Chicki – Karol Keyes

Controller – Graham Leaman

Control Voice – Denis Goacher

Drum Majorette – Maureen Lane

Guard – John Caesar

Guard – Steve Emerson

Guard – Danny Rae

Macra Operator – Robert Jewell

Medok – Terence Lodge

Officia – John Harvey

Ola – Gertan Klauber

Pilot – Peter Jeffrey

Questa – Ian Fairbairn

Sunnaa – Jane Enshawe


Director – John Davies

Assistant Floor Manager – Anne Faggetter

Costumes – Daphne Dare

Costumes – Vanessa Clark

Designer – Kenneth Sharp

Film Cameraman – Peter Hamilton

Film Editor – Eddie Wallstab

Incidental Music – Dudley Simpson

Make-Up – Gillian James

Make-Up – Jeanne Richmond

Producer – Innes Lloyd

Production Assistant – Chris D’Oyly John

Special Sounds – Brian Hodgson

Story Editor – Gerry Davis

Studio Lighting – Frank Cresswell

Studio Sound – Hugh Barker

Studio Sound – Gordon Mackie

Title Music – Ron Grainer and the BBC Radiophonic Workshop, arranged by Delia Derbyshire

Writer – Ian Stuart Black

All four episodes are missing from the BBC Archives.

© Anneke Wills 2017